Road America IMSA: Acura Team Penske unmatchable in FP3

Dane Cameron and Helio Castroneves put the Acura ARX-05s well beyond the reach of their rivals in final IMSA WeatherTeach SportsCar Championship practice at Road America.

Cameron’s 1min49.590sec lap of the 4.014-mile course near Elkhart Lake, WI, stood 1sec clear of the field for most of the session, until teammate and three-time Indy 500 winner Castroneves closed to within two-tenths of a second late in the session.

A late effort from Oliver Jarvis saw the #77 Mazda RT24-P finish third but he was 0.679sec from the ultimate pace, while Colin Braun’s best effort in the Nissan DPi left him a full second away.

Jonathan Bomarito was fifth in the second Mazda, just ahead of the fastest Cadillac DPi-V.R, that of Action Express Racing’s Pipo Derani who was mere hundredths faster than fellow Caddy pilot Renger van der Zande (Wayne Taylor Racing).

In GT Le Mans, a very late effort from Laurens Vanthoor in the #912 Porsche saw him displace the BMW M8 of John Edwards by just 0.004sec, while the second BMW was around 0.2sec adrift in third.

The Ford GTs of Ryan Briscoe and Dirk Muller were very close by in fourth and fifth, while Oliver Gavin’s #4 Corvette outpaced the second Porsche and second ’Vette.

Ben Keating topped GT Daytona in the Riley Motorsports-run Mercedes-AMG GT3 ahead of the impressive McLaren 720S of Compass Racing, wheeled by Paul Holton.

Robby Foley’s best effort in the Turner Motorsports BMW M6 left him third ahead of Dennis Olsen in the Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Qualifying begins at 12.35pm local (Central) time.

Session results:

16 Dane Cameron
Juan Pablo Montoya
DPiAcura DPi1’49.590 
27 Ricky Taylor
Helio Castroneves
DPiAcura DPi1’49.7830.193
377 Oliver Jarvis
Tristan Nunez
DPiMazda DPi1’50.2690.679
454 Jon Bennett
Colin Braun
DPiNissan DPi1’50.6001.010
555 Jonathan Bomarito
Harry Tincknell
DPiMazda DPi1’50.8131.223
631 Felipe Nasr
Pipo Derani
DPiCadillac DPi1’50.8751.285
710 Renger van der Zande
Jordan Taylor
DPiCadillac DPi1’50.8861.296
884 Simon Trummer
Stephen Simpson
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.1711.581
95 Joao Barbosa
Filipe Albuquerque
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.2601.670
1052 Matt McMurry
Patrick Kelly
LMP2ORECA LMP21’52.1372.547
1185 Mikhail Goikhberg
Tristan Vautier
DPiCadillac DPi1’52.2942.704
1238 Cameron Cassels
James French
LMP2ORECA LMP21’53.6324.042
13912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR2’01.64412.054
1424 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE2’01.64812.058
1525 Tom Blomqvist
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE2’01.86712.277
1667 Ryan Briscoe
Richard Westbrook
GTLMFord GT2’01.88012.290
1766 Joey Hand
Dirk Muller
GTLMFord GT2’01.93212.342
184 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C7.R2’02.17212.582
19911 Patrick Pilet
Nick Tandy
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR2’02.29912.709
203 Jan Magnussen
Antonio Garcia
GTLMCorvette C7.R2’03.11313.523
2133 Ben Keating
Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTDMercedes-AMG GT32’05.48515.895
2276 Paul Holton
Matt Plumb
GTDMcLaren 720S GT32’05.89716.307
2396 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
GTDBMW M6 GT32’06.25316.663
2491 Anthony Imperato
Dennis Olsen
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’06.31516.725
2514 Richard Heistand
Jack Hawksworth
GTDLexus RC F GT32’06.49716.907
2648 Bryan Sellers
Corey Lewis
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT32’06.50216.912
2763 Cooper MacNeil
Toni Vilander
GTDFerrari 488 GT32’06.79217.202
2886 Mario Farnbacher
Trent Hindman
GTDAcura NSX GT32’06.81017.220
2912 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
GTDLexus RC F GT32’06.88317.293
3057 Katherine Legge
Ana Beatriz
GTDAcura NSX GT32’06.97517.385
319 Matt Campbell
Zacharie Robichon
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’07.20617.616
3244 John Potter
Andy Lally
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT32’07.46317.873
338 Parker Chase
Ryan Dalziel
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT32’07.50717.917
3473 Patrick Lindsey
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’07.74818.158
3574 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach

Source: Read Full Article