Lewis Hamilton wins his 7th Formula 1 world title

Michael Schumacher is the only other F1 driver to win 7 driver’s championships.

Lewis Hamilton has been crowned the 2020 F1 world champion. He wrapped up the 7th F1 world title after the Turkish GP, equalling Michael Schumacher’s record.

Hamilton won the race, while his championship rival and team mate Valtteri Bottas finished outside the points, paving the way for the Brit to secure his seventh world title. Earlier this season, Hamilton surpassed Schumacher’s record for the highest number of grand prix wins.

Hamilton started the race in sixth position. The wet and slippery track made driving tricky for most of the front runners. While others around him pitted for fresh tyres, Hamilton was able to make his tyres last for 50 laps. Having gained track position, he was able to stay in the front till the chequered flag. Racing Point’s Sergio Perez finished in second place ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel.

The last three races of this season will be held in Bahrain and Abu Dhabi.

Source: Read Full Article