EXCLUSIVE: Watch the Launch of Virgil Abloh's Mercedes-Benz Collaboration

Following a teaser, and the reveal of a collaborative glove, Virgil Abloh and Mercedes-Benz have come together to reveal their joint project. Titled “Project Geländewagen,” the collaboration sees Abloh create an artwork from Mercedes-Benz’s classic G-Class model.

Marking the car’s 40th anniversary in 2019, the project will be transformed into a unique scale replica that will be auctioned off. The winner of the auction will also receive exclusive access to Virgil Abloh and his co-creator, Mercedes-Benz Chief Design Officer, Gorden Wagener, with the proceeds being donated to a charity that supports the arts. Launching the project, Mercedes-Benz and Abloh explained that they felt “compelled to help support the arts and the international creative community at a critical time.”

Further speaking about the collaboration, Abloh said, “Mercedes-Benz is a brand that stands for luxury and exceptional performance. Truly a perfect chassis to interject modern artists’ ideas of what the future can be stylistically, within conceptual car design.” Wagener described Mercedes-Benz as “much more than a luxury carmaker, it is a design brand and luxury label. “The next step in pushing Mercedes-Benz design is our collaboration with Virgil Abloh. We are set to create something unseen in both of our branches.”

To get an up close look at the Virgil Abloh x Mercedes-Benz project, and to learn more about it, you can tune in to the launch event from 10AM EST/3PM BST/4PM CET via the video above.

For more from Mercedes-Benz, take a look at the new 2021 S-Class and all of the technical innovations it contains.
Source: Read Full Article